ZEV Alliance

International ZEV Alliance

Jurisdictions and governments collaborate to expand the global zero-emission vehicle (ZEV) market.

The Issue

Meeting our climate change targets will require the development and adoption of vehicle technologies that emit no tailpipe pollutants and can be powered by zero carbon energy. 

The member jurisdictions of the International Zero Emission Vehicle Alliance (IZEVA) seek to collaborate with other governments to expand the global zero-emission vehicle (ZEV) market and enhance government cooperation on ZEV policies, in order to strengthen and coordinate efforts to combat air pollution, limit global climate change, and reduce oil dependence, thereby increasing ZEV deployment. 

The ICCT serves as the ZEV Alliance Secretariat and coordinates all activities on behalf of the member jurisdictions.

For more information, visit:

Our Method

Knowledge sharing

The ZEV Alliance provides a unique platform to share lessons and brainstorm new solutions to enable the member governments to transition to ZEVs more quickly and maximize environmental, economic, and social benefits. This is accomplished through open exchange among the expert officials at the front of the ZEV transition, complemented by deep research into critical challenges.

Member engagement

The ZEV Alliance is a group of leading governments demonstrating their deep commitment to accelerating the transition to zero emission vehicles within their markets and through collective action. The members include countries (Austria, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Germany, Netherlands, Norway, United Kingdom, Switzerland, and New Zealand) and subnational jurisdictions (Baden-Württemberg, British Columbia, California, Connecticut, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Québec, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Washington).


  • Austria 
  • Baden-Württemberg 
  • British Columbia 
  • California 
  • Canada 
  • Chile 
  • Connecticut 
  • Costa Rica 
  • Germany 
  • Maryland 
  • Massachusetts 
  • Netherlands 
  • New Jersey 
  • New Zealand 
  • New York 
  • Norway 
  • Oregon 
  • Québec 
  • Rhode Island 
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom 
  • Vermont 
  • Washington