Board of Directors

Margo Oge

Margo T. Oge is the former Director of the Office of Transportation and Air Quality (OTAQ) at the United States Environmental Protection Agency, a position that culminated a 32-year career with the EPA. During her 18-year tenure as Director of OTAQ, Margo Oge was the chief architect of the most important achievements in the history of air pollution control in the U.S. transportation sector. These included programs that reduced emissions from gasoline and diesel-fueled automobiles, trucks, buses, and off-road vehicles by up to 99 percent. She led the EPA’s development of the first-ever national greenhouse gas emission standards for cars and heavy-duty trucks, helped establish the Renewable Fuels Standard, and was instrumental in establishing the United Nations process on global harmonization of transportation emissions standards, worldwide.

She is the Chair of the board of the International Council on Clean Transportation (ICCT). She also serves as a member of the Executive Committee of the board of the Union of Concerned Scientists (UCS), Distinguished Fellow with Climateworks Foundation, member of the advisory board of UCDAVIS Institute of Transportation and member of the advisory board of Climate Imperative Foundation. She has served as a member of the Volkswagen Group’s International Sustainability Council, a director of the National Academy of Science on Energy and Environment board and member of advisory committee of the US Global Change Research Program. She is the author of “Driving the Future: Combating Climate Change with Clean Cars” and is a contributor to Forbes. She has been a contributor to the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, CNN, ABC, PBS, NPR, The Hill, Forbes, Fortune, Time and Huffington Post.